Health & Wellness Tuesday: Cleansing

Cleansing is the process of removing toxins from the body which goes back to Egyptian times yet it still remains controversial to this day.  The reason being is there is not a whole lot of scientific proof that by cleansing you are actually ridding your body of toxins.  At the same time there is SOMETHING to it because I’ve been doing it for a several months now and I feel fantastic.  Better than I have in years!  And I’ve never felt this good by simply eating right and exercising alone.

I’ve pretty much been the same weight my whole life – give or take 10-15 pounds – and I’ve been a “sporty chick” as well so I know what my muscles look like when I’m in shape.  I go through phases of being “in the zone” and then I’ll go a month or two where I don’t care… then I’ll feel gross and get BACK in shape… etc.  It’s a continuous cycle that I couldn’t seem to break.

But I have finally figured it out.

“It’s a way to recharge, rejuvenate, and renew,” says Linda Page, ND, PhD, a naturopathic doctor, lecturer, and author of the book Detoxification. “Anybody can benefit from a cleansing.  The body is coming out of what might be called hibernation.  It’s a way you can jump-start your body for a more active life, a healthier life.

“Our bodies naturally detoxify every day.  Detoxification is a normal body process of eliminating or neutralizing toxins through the colon, liver, kidneys, lungs, lymph glands, and skin,” she writes in her book.  “Just as our hearts beat nonstop and our lungs breathe continuously, so our metabolic processes continuously dispose of accumulated toxic matter.

“However, the environmental toxins of modern-day life — the pollutants, chemicals, other synthetic substances — are more than the average body can handle,” says Page. “The body doesn’t know what to do with foreign substances, so it will store them outside of the regular elimination system, so we don’t get poisoned.  Those poisons start building up in our body fat.” – from WebMD.com

I don’t know about you but this makes sense to me!  I feel like my body is back to Square One and by cleansing just two days per month I can keep it there and remain at optimal health.

I have tried three different cleanses in the past.

#1 – The Master Cleanse which is the lemon juice, cayenne pepper, maple syrup mixture from hell.  After 4 days of ingesting nothing but this concoction my intestines were empty so I naturally lost weight.  But if I had to taste anything citrus again I was going to lose it.  Then, I of course started eating solid food again so I naturally gained the weight right back.

#2 – Gwyneth Paltrow’s suggested cleanse in which she has you running around Whole Foods trying to find ingredients like dried bonito flakes and barley miso.  Then, you mix everything in a blender and the result is a disgusting green brew that resembles the slime from “You Can’t Do That On Television”.  I have a pretty high tolerance when it comes to eating gross things to lose weight but Gwynnie put me over the edge.  And out about $200 since I threw most of the stuff away that I had bought.

#3 – Isagenix Products which have proven to be the answer for me, several of my friends and hundreds of thousands of other people as well!  There is a link to the website in my Blogroll.  I did a 9-day cleanse which was 2 days of drinking their tropical berry juice while having some fruit, nuts and veggies as snacks during the day.  Then 5 days of a delicious chocolate protein shake in the morning followed by “sensible” meals for lunch and dinner plus more fruit, nut, veggie snacks in between meals.  Then 2 more days of the cleanse juice and that’s it.

I lost 9 lbs around my waist, gut and butt.  Nice!  The best part is I didn’t lose the weight because I cleared out my colon.  I was eating food the whole time so that’s not the reason.  I truly believe I lost the weight because (1) I wasn’t eating as much and was exercising, and (2) the toxins were eliminated from my body.

And I have maintained this weight loss by having my protein shake every morning and cleansing 2 days per month.  Meanwhile, I work out a few days a week and try to eat right.  But I also allow myself a couple meals in which I chow down on fried catfish and french fries because I want to LIVE too.

These products truly have become a lifestyle for me.  Because of the amazing amount of nutrients in the protein shake it really increases your lean muscle mass.  I am seeing muscles that I’ve never seen before.  My arms look better now than they did when I was younger and I grew up playing tennis.  A good friend of mine is an Ironman athlete and she is experiencing the same results while also having shaved 30 minutes off of her race time.

I highly recommend these products and can coach anyone through a cleanse if you should choose to try one!  The 9-day cleanse is not the only option so I can explain other options to you as well should you be interested.

It’s time to be the best we can be!
Stacey

2 responses to “Health & Wellness Tuesday: Cleansing

  1. wow!

    looks like that this wellness package really helped you and gave you what you wanted, a healthy and enjoyable life. i wish to experience that too but you didn’t mention on how to avail it and the price.

    • Hi Ella! So sorry about that. You can either click on the “Isagenix” link in my blogroll or go to the this website: http://staceybunch.isagenix.com/us/en/home.dhtml. Then go to Products — Cleansing Systems & Paks — 9 Day System and you’ll see information regarding that cleanse. Make sure to scroll to the bottom of the page, click the “Printable Flyers” tab and download the brochure. It’s very informative. I’d be happy to answer any questions you have and if you decide to do a cleanse I’d love to coach you through it! The 9-Day cleanse is $174 (so $19/day). It’s a great price for the benefits you receive! My email is staceybunch@gmail.com so feel free to email me with any questions!

Leave a Reply

