Free For All Friday: TuneGlue


I’m a huge fan of music but I’m unfortunately really lazy when it comes to discovering new artists.  One thing I made myself do during these past 5 months of unemployment is go through every single song on my iTunes and decide if it’s hot or not.  Almost 2,000 songs.  As I scrolled down the list, I realized I’m over my trance phase that I picked up in my mid-20’s in LA and got rid of that stuff.  I discovered 20 songs called “Track 01”, 20 songs called “Track 02”, 17 songs called “Track 03” – you get the picture – and they were mostly duplicates of songs I already had.  So I got rid of those.  Then there were songs that I swear I’ve never heard in my life.  I don’t know how I got the stuff.  Using the shuffle function on my iPod has always been an adventure.

Now that my iTunes is finally cleaned up and I’ve made all sorts of playlists (Relaxing, Dinner With Friends, Pretend I Can Sing Like Alicia), I want to make sure I have all of the artists on there who I know and love.  But it’s hard to think of people out of thin air.  Plus, I’m really behind on music because for the last 3 years I’ve lived in cities where I didn’t own a car.  And because I didn’t have a car I didn’t have a radio so I have no idea what the kids are listening to these days.  So how do I figure out what music to add?

iTunes is a natural first choice and going to the singles chart is a nice place to start.  I see that Katy Perry’s “California Gurls” is #1.  Cool, I’ll add that.  Okay, now what?

Enter TuneGlue Music Map.  I love the simplicity of this website.  Enter the name of one artist that you like in the search field.  Let’s try Katy Perry.  Hit enter and a little record icon with Katy Perry’s name pops up.  Click on the record then click “Expand” and 6 new records with 6 artists who are similar to Katy Perry pop out.  TuneGlue says if you like Katy Perry you might like:

Avril Lavigne
Lady Gaga
Kelly Clarkson
Lindsay Lohan
Ke$ha
Pixie Lott

This is great because I’ve heard of all of these people except for Pixie Lott.  So I go to iTunes and download all the songs from the artists I know (ignoring the Lindsay recommendation) and look up Pixie Lott on iTunes.  I preview her song “Boys & Girls” and it’s perfect for my newly made “Pretend I’m Exercising” playlist so I download it and add it.  So simple!

You can keep expanding and expanding.  I clicked on Lady Gaga’s record icon, expanded it, ignored the Heidi Montag suggestion but learned about Space Cowboy and Eva Simons.  Didn’t really like either of them but at least I KNOW that now.

TuneGlue is a great way to remind yourself of who you like and a great way to learn about new artists as well.  I’d love to hear from some people who really know their music to see what you think of TuneGlue or if you know of a better website that serves the same purpose!

TGIF!  Let’s rock out!

Leave a Reply

