Travel Thursday: FareWatcher Plus

For years now, I have had Travelocity’s FareWatcher Plus do my airfare hunting for me.  It’s simple to set up and use and you never know what great rates will come to your email inbox.  Here’s how it works:

(1) Register for free with Travelocity.com
(2) Once you’re logged in, click on the “My Travelocity” tab
(3) Click on the link under “Track Deals with FareWatcher Plus”
(4) Choose up to 10 destinations you want Travelocity to watch for you

You can choose to be notified if:

Airfare goes down by $25
Airfare goes up or down by $25
Airfare goes below $xxx (you can choose the price)

You can have them look for the next 3 months, 6 months, indefinitely or you can specify an end date.  I like this because I’ve chosen 3 months before if I knew I had to purchase a flight in the next 3 months for a specific trip but didn’t want to look every single day for the best airfare.  Then I have some cities set to “indefinitely” because I always want to go there (NYC) and if a cheap flight pops up I might just take a trip!

I also like that when you receive the email about the fare price you know you’re finding out about it as soon as it happens so you’ll have a much better chance of getting the dates you want instead of looking for it yourself and discovering it only after most of the good dates are sold out.

Also, you can choose international destinations as well.  So if you’ve always wanted to go to Paris why not have FareWatcher Plus look for good deals for you and have that determine when you finally bite the bullet and go?

I noticed Expedia.com has a similar function on their website but you have to download an application to your computer so it’s a little more involved.  But, if anyone has used Expedia and you really like it please let me know!  Also, I know you can sign up with individual airlines’ websites and they will send you weekly emails with discount airfares but you might not want a weekly email about a bunch of places you don’t care to visit.

Taking a few minutes to set this up could save you some money and help you take a trip or two during the year that you hadn’t even planned!

Leave a Reply

