Sunday Wrap Up: Goose Poop and The Book Thief

I had a pretty tame weekend considering I was cleansing so therefore not eating much or drinking any alcohol.  Needed to detox after my Atlanta weekend and I feel much better.

Watched the movie “Philadelphia” Friday night as I had never seen it.  I can’t believe that movie was made 16 years ago!  And, while watching it I couldn’t believe how dated it felt.  I was reminded of how far we’ve come as a society regarding our attitudes about people who have HIV/AIDS and about the gay community.  And how we still have so far to go.

Saturday, I exercised at Sloans Lake in the Highlands.  I love this park!  It’s a true city park with too much goose poop on the sidewalk and some vagrants but several people either smiled or said hi as I passed by and the scenery is absolutely gorgeous!  Then I went to the Cherry Blossom Festival and thought I’d get my Asian on but it was pretty disappointing.  It only took about 10 minutes to walk through and see all the stalls.  And I never saw any cherry blossom trees.  It mostly consisted of the local Asian population selling lots of Asian trinkets of which I already have way too many.  And it felt a little strange to have lived in Asia and to now be in Denver watching the local Asian people here sell the exact same stuff that I bought over there.  I thought I was super cool having been able to buy little things here and there on small side streets in various Asian countries but in the end… I’m just a tourist buying the same crap you can get apparently get anywhere.  I did catch the end of a Judo demonstration where a girl kicked three guys butts who were attacking her so that was cool.

I met up with my roommate and some of his friends to watch the end of the US World Cup match.  I don’t know much about it but it’s a bummer we lost.  Then I went to see “Knight and Day” and despite the great stunts I was mad at myself for spending $10 in my unemployed state on that movie.  I have no desire to ever see Tom Cruise in a romantic role again.  Ever.

Today, I rode one of Denver’s B Cycle bikes to the Central Library and did some studying on the technicals of photography.  I’m WAY overdue on studying this stuff.  It’s embarrassing.  Then I had dinner at one of my new favorite places, City O’ City, which is a vegetarian restaurant/cafe.  I sat in the corner that has a setup not unlike Central Perk on “Friends”.  I read some of the current book I’m reading, “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak.  If you’re looking for a new book to read I highly recommend this one.  I love the way he phrases things.  Describing a man as having a “hemispherical waistline” was my favorite phrase today.

One response to “Sunday Wrap Up: Goose Poop and The Book Thief

  1. Read the Help, it’s so freakin good! You will love it since you’re from the South!

    can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

