Motivation Wednesday: The Happiness Project

Gretchen Rubin’s #1 NY Times Bestselling book “The Happiness Project” came out in December 2009 and I wish I had heard about it back then because that is exactly when I returned to the states after living abroad for 2 1/2 years.  I was pretty lost and certainly could have benefited from her account of her experiences.  As she says on her website she, “spent [a year] test-driving the wisdom of the ages, the current scientific studies, and the lessons from popular culture about how to be happy–from Aristotle to Martin Seligman to Thoreau to Oprah.”

She now has a blog in which she helps you create your own “Happiness Project”.  You may not want to get as involved as she did but her blog is definitely worth bookmarking and visiting once a week.  Coincidentally, she has deemed Wednesday her day to give a motivational tip as well.  She has tons of tips, quizzes, videos and advice posts to help you with any sort of specific motivational topic you may be interested in.  I personally love her Twelve Personal Commandments:

  1. Be Gretchen. (insert your own name)
  2. Let it go.
  3. Act the way I want to feel.
  4. Do it now.
  5. Be polite and be fair.
  6. Enjoy the process.
  7. Spend out.
  8. Identify the problem.
  9. Lighten up.
  10. Do what ought to be done.
  11. No calculation.
  12. There is only love.

As soon as I’m done with my current book I’m going to check this one out.  I suggest at least giving her blog a look to see if you can get anything out of it.  I’ll bet that you do!

Leave a Reply

