Health & Wellness Tuesday: Back to Basics

I have been struggling with keeping in shape since I am currently without a job and therefore without a gym membership.  But because I am without a job I have all the time in the world to fit in a work out.  BUT, I got used to having my elliptical machine and my weight machines and my body pump classes to make sure I was getting in my exercise.  So how do I stay in shape without a gym?  It’s easy.  Go back to the basics.  Sits ups, push ups and some cardio.  That’s all you really need to do to stay in shape.  Pilates machines and Precor machines and trainers are nice and they certainly help you attain a higher level of fitness but if you don’t have access to those luxuries… go back to the basics!  There’s NO EXCUSE for not fitting your sit ups and push ups in every day.  (I actually just took a break from writing this post to do 21 push ups and I feel much better).

Then, if you can just squeeze 4 days of cardio in per week you’re good.  This is what I struggle with though.  Despite the fact that I have all the time in the world to workout… I just don’t like to workout when it’s 100 degrees outside.  Call me crazy.  So without a cushy air-conditioned gym what am I supposed to do??

My solution is I bought a jump rope.  Got it for $14.99 at Target.  I go outside in the late afternoon when it’s not quite at hot and have at it.  After about 10 minutes I’m D.O.N.E.  If I can, I try to jump rope a couple times per day.  That doesn’t always workout though with social events and taking a shower, etc. but when it does work it’s great.  I feel like a kid again.  Then I get all confident and try to do the criss-cross thing but usually get tripped up and decide that sticking to the basics is best.

It’s all about molding a workout to your current lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

